Frequently Asked Questions About Auto Accident Law in Georgia
Experienced auto accident attorney in Newnan answers your questions
The Law Office of S. Mark Mitchell, LLC in Newnan, Georgia has wide experience winning financial compensation for people hurt in automobile accidents throughout the Atlanta area. People come to my law firm with lots of questions about how to proceed with an auto injury claim, such as these:
- What kinds of injuries are most common in auto accidents?
- Who is at fault for a car accident under Georgia law?
- Whose insurance pays for a car accident under Georgia law?
- How long do I have to file a personal injury case after a car accident?
- Will the other driver have to pay for my medical bills under Georgia law?
- Should I call my insurance company after a Georgia car accident?
- Will an insurance company pay for a rental car after an accident?
- What if I’ve been in a car accident in Georgia and I don’t have health insurance?
Injuries vary with the type of auto accident, but the most common ones are:
- Strain and sprain of the muscles and ligaments in the neck and other parts of the body
- Concussions and other head injuries
- Neck and spinal cord injuries, including whiplash
- Broken bones
- Cuts, scrapes and bruises
Symptoms of your injuries might not appear until hours or days after the accident, so don’t assume you weren’t injured because you don’t feel pain.
Any person whose negligence contributed to causing the accident is at fault and may have to pay damages. As long as the injured person wasn’t 50 percent or more at fault, he or she will be able to recover damages, although the amount will be reduced by his or her own share of negligence.
The at-fault driver’s auto insurance company is responsible — up to its policy limits — for the medical bills, lost income, other economic loss and pain and suffering of anyone injured in the accident.
The statute of limitations for personal injury cases is two years, not counting any time before you turned 18 years old. However, you should see an attorney immediately in order to give them ample time to investigate to investigate the accident and prepare your case.
Yes, if the other driver was at fault for the accident to any degree, they may have to contribute to paying your medical bills and other expenses. The amount they pay will be proportional to their degree of fault.
Yes. Your insurance company is entitled to receive prompt notice of any accident, since it will be required to provide coverage if you are sued or if an at-fault driver is without adequate insurance of their own.
If another driver is at fault, its insurance company will be liable for paying your costs if you need a rental car until your car is repaired or replaced. Your own insurer will be responsible for reimbursing your rental car costs only if you purchased collision coverage.
If another driver is at fault, their insurance company must pay toward your medical bills for accident-related injuries. Your insurance company can reimburse you for medical costs if you purchased personal injury protection coverage.